Drywall & dry bones.

Something conspires to keep me from fixing my wall.
The first time, it was beer. A spur-of-the-moment dinner at Bukowski and enrollment in the Dead Authors Club together spelled too much inebriation for (a) driving to the Home Depot and (b) use of power and other tools.
Today it was World War I.
Seriously. Because it’s Veteran’s Day weekend, no hardware stores were open in the Greater Boston Area (as far as I could tell) at 7:30 pm today, so I have been unable to purchase the supplies necessary to fix the results of a party-induced wall-punching. Despite a lightning-fast dinner at Anna’s Taqueria, the discovery of an abandoned mannequin torso with a burn mark on the neck on a Brookline curb, and the surprise of actually not getting lost on the way to the Somerville Home Depot (no, really — the part of Somerville between McGrath Highway and I-93 is utterly incomprehensible and disorienting), we were met with corrugated steel anti-break-in doors when we arrived in the vast and empty parking lot. The Ace in Inman Square was also shut tight. So Mar and I had to change our plans.
We returned to my apartment (fondly known as The A-Side Lounge) and had a cup of tea to help us mull it over. And then inspiration hit.
The Singing Detective. It’s recently been made into a movie starring Robert Downey, Jr. and Mel Gibson, but the 1986 BBC miniseries is recognized by those who know about this sort of thing (you know, like media scholars) to be the best piece of television ever created. And I think I might be inclined to agree.
Earlier in the day I had walked past the Kendall Cinema, where the new movie is now showing, and thought to myself that I really should watch the original again before I even think about going to see the feature film. (I mean, I know I’m likely to be disappointed, perhaps even angered by it, so…) And so, with my immediate evening plans shot and the company of a good friend, I figured what the hell.
And I have to say that the miniseries is like a good novel: layered, masterfully done, and endlessly fascinating. It gets better with each subsequent reading (or watching, as the case may be). And I’ll have to write about it some more.
But I’ve definitely got a good week’s worth of mid-application-reading watching ahead of me.
Yeah.

One thought on “Drywall & dry bones.

Leave a Reply

