MacGyver, The A-Team, and some serious nerds.

I don’t know how my friends find things like this, but they do.
On an admissions counselor/social observer note, I want to suggest that there’s a correlation here: it’s no accident that so many of my MIT buddies love these guys. I mean, this is engineering at its finest, right? Resourcefulness, wits, and badass don’t-give-a-fuck. It’s the same appeal as something like Junkyard Wars or Battlebots. Check it out.
And so also: These people are serious nerds, seriously awesomely so. I think they’ve said something which well-encapsulates what I see as among our guiding forces here in MIT Admissions: “This planet needs a lot more kids that think taking a lawnmower’s engine apart is more fun than playing video games.”
But video games are cool, too. We need those people in the world.
And this is a gorgeous book.

2 thoughts on “MacGyver, The A-Team, and some serious nerds.

Leave a Reply

