Friday night and Saturday morning.

Teresa’s here on a mini-vacation from the Marine Corps, so the old crew is hanging out, the circa-1999 folks who are still around. The rest of you are missed.
Sweetness Follows is playing on the stereo. This song kills me, every time.
This morning we made some flapjacks. I have always been more a fan of eggier or whole-grain pancakes as opposed to bisquick-style cakey pancakes — but I’m not sure I’d ever made flapjacks from scratch before. They turned out marvelously, much to everyone’s delight. I think my roommates are glad that my pancake snobbery isn’t going to get in the way of their bisquick tastes.
An article in today’s Globe had some interesting (if unoriginal) things to say about technology in our lives. This sort of thing has been on my mind a great deal of late, as I start thinking again about what to pursure in graduate school. I still am very excited about STS-type study, though I’m still trying to find a program that I think will be the best fit for me.
I recently reread Donald Hall’s fabulously hilarious, scathing, and insightful essay Reasons for Hating Vermont. It speaks about dynamics I want to better understand, not just through field work but also, I think, on a more theoretical and “academic” level: the relationship between the urban and the rural (both the land and the people), the management of the natural and built worlds, the way the countryside is perceived by city folks and vice versa, and those people who fall somewhere in the middle or who move between the two. Sometimes I don’t know where I fall, though it’s clear my sympathies lie with the rural. That’s an easy trap, though — the romanticized vision of rural life — and I know for a fact that my upbringing in both city and country has given me a unique perspective on both sides of the fence. There’s a lot of stuff at work here, and it fascinates me.
I’ve been looking at MIT’s Urban Studies program; they have this Environmental Policy Group that seems to have some pretty awesome research fields, but I’m trying to determine whether the coursework is something I’m really interested in. As much as I want to really go out and do something, I think I do want humanistic study and some measure of theory, though I know I’ve railed against it at times.
I guess I’d like to think that, regardless of the environment I find myself in in grad school, I will be doing something I think will make a difference. I’d like to think it’s in my blood.
I could be deluding myself.

3 thoughts on “Friday night and Saturday morning.

  1. My mom has always added eggs to pancake mix; she wouldn’t dream of making pancakes any other way. Eggs are the secret ingredient to success. I add an egg to everything I make now.
    Incidentally, my favorite Dunkin’ donut is the French cruller – a sugar-crisp-on-the-outside, moist-eggy-on-the-inside, many-creased torus (which, incidentally, Dunkin’ Donuts is removing from its lineup because it is too “labor-intensive”).

  2. The french cruller is my favorite, too. I can’t believe those bastards are getting rid of it.
    That is one of the best descriptions of a french cruller I’ve ever heard. My mouth is watering.
    Eggs rock.

Leave a Reply

