Finger: denied!

I just made about 120 successive queries (by hand!) to the MIT finger server, and this is what happened to me:

athena% f j-wolfe@mit
[mit.MIT.EDU]
Query refused. Number of queries has exceeded alloted time period.

I’m going to have to start using mitdir now. I mean, fscked if I’m going to use a web interface for this.
In case you’re wondering what the heck this is all for, I’m doing a favor for a fellow DL cross-checking the spelling on a bunch of faculty names for invitations. Yeah, it’s pretty fabulous.
Would you believe that there are in fact two people at MIT with the last name “Triantafyllou”?

6 thoughts on “Finger: denied!

  1. I’ve encountered this before, but of course, I was running a perl script to finger everyone named “John” (or something like that). And no, I wasn’t stalking anyone, I was answering a question while on duty at Nightline.
    Well…I guess that means I was stalking someone, but it was on behalf of an anonymous requestor.

  2. Yeah, it’s been like that for as long as I remember. If you need to query a lot, use a dialup machine. The limit is enforced by machine IP address and the dialups have, at least in the past, been excluded from the limitation.

Leave a Reply

