The way the camera follows us in slow-mo…

Abby’s at the Ladysmith Black Mambazo concert at the Union Theater tonight. When I relayed this information to Joe, his reaction was confusion and something like, um, Gesundheit. And, to explain what the hell I was talking about, I had to put on ‘Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes,’ which he’d never heard, and which meant throwing the LP on the turntable. And now I’m listening to the A side, reminded of my junior year of college and a certain moment the summer thereafter when I put this very record on in my room at home and danced around to ‘I Know What I Know’ and the guitar exhibit that came to the MFA that had Paul Simon’s original lyrics to ‘Graceland’ and some fricking science studies article I read for Hugh Gusterson’s class the year after I graduated that quoted ‘The Boy in the Bubble.’
And, shit, this is a good album, with some damned good lyrics.
Now to go read about the medicalization of homosexuality…
(Oh, but don’t I know you from the cinematographer’s party?!)

5 thoughts on “The way the camera follows us in slow-mo…

  1. Someone hadn’t heard Graceland or heard of Ladysmith?
    What else hasn’t he heard? Joshua Tree?
    Those two would have to be my top two pop albums of the last 20 years, I would have to guess. Graceland’s just so good.
    And it doesn’t hurt that it’s spreading my homeland’s culture.

  2. Too cute, WH! Man, do I love being landed on my ear by humor that disrupts what my mind is thinking! chucklechuckle

Leave a Reply

