Chez Mrhé.

Well, folks, I’m here in Boston, living it up at MRhé’s swank pad in the North End. I awaoke at a quarter to four yesterday morning, and Paul was nice enough to get up early as well to drop me off at the Dane County Airport for my 6:05 am flight. I was in Milwaukee by 6:30, and in the air to Boston an hour later. I arrived to pouring rain, chilly weather, and plenty of wind — a big change from sunny, 70s-and-80s Madison! I caught the blue line to Government Center, and met up with Mike outside his office in Quincy Market. We walked over to his apartment, where I dropped off my things; then we headed back to the Faneuil Hall area to grab some lunch. I enjoyed some chowder and fish cakes — a very Boston beginning to my trip, culinarily speaking. Mike then went back to work, and I returned to the apartment and fell asleep for several hours, which felt great.
I awake a little before Mike returned from work to discover that the Sox-Yanks game had been called; despite this having been the central focus of our planned evening, we decided to go ahead with the social plan and grill up some brats and have some beers in good company. LB, Scott, Ben, and Josh joined us Chez MRhé, and a good time was had by all. Calls were made; points were awarded. A possible name for Josh’s boat was put forth. We’ll see if he still likes it today.
Here’s hoping that the game is still on for tonight, ’cause I’m jonesin’ for some NESN coverage, especially after unearthing the transcript of baseball-watching banter from the start of the 2004 season, back at the A-Side. Jeff, if only you were here too!
Today I had a leisurely morning about the apartment, had breakfast and coffee and caught up on some email, got in touch with Woz about tomorrow’s trip to the lakehouse, and then headed out to find a birthday gift for Kristin. I also popped into Caffe Vittoria in the afternoon, and read a bit of the Pollan over triamisu and cappuccino. Perfect for a rainy afternoon in the North End.
Tomorrow night I’m off to the lakehouse, followed by NYC on Sunday for Bobbi’s ordination, and then some time at home with the parentals before coming back to Boston on the 14th for the Ag History conference and more time with friends. For now, I think it’s some more reading and relaxing here at the .259 Club.

4 thoughts on “Chez Mrhé.

  1. >
    I am SO envious…
    …of youth?
    NaH…IT JUST LOOKS THAT WAY: I couldn’t live under the age 42 limbo and am QUITE content at 6 – 2 … BUT …
    > SURE makes THIS tongue water …
    unto salavic urination!

  2. >
    I am SO envious…
    …of youth?
    NaH…IT JUST LOOKS THAT WAY: I couldn’t live under the age 42 limbo and am QUITE content at 6 – 2 … BUT …
    > SURE makes THIS tongue water …
    unto salavic urination!

Leave a Reply

