Weekendless in Wisconsin.

After attending the EcoHealth ONE conference here in Madison this weekend (part of my seminar on ecology and disease in historical and contemporary perspective) and spending what remained of my “free” time in the library doing research on rural public health in Wisconsin in the first half of the twentieth century, I have to admit that I’m a bit burnt-out. There’s something about having to be on campus for an 8 a.m. session that just is not right. I mean, hauling yourself out of bed for the first morning conference session is hard enough when you’re staying in the conference hotel — but when you actually live in town, it’s a far bigger pain, especially when you have to take into account the pared-down weekend bus schedule, which means a longer ride, which means getting up at some ungodly hour on a Saturday when you could be (a) sleeping, (b) enjoying the farmer’s market before it becomes clogged with latte-toting parents with strollers, or (c) having a pastry from Sophia’s. Did I mention sleeping?
Anyway, the conference was pretty good — I saw a lot of interesting papers, though let’s just say that the standard dev. for quality of PowerPoint presentations was, um, greater — except for the whole accidentally-oversleeping-till-7:20-on-Monday (yes, apparently 7:20 a.m. is now oversleeping) -when-I-had-to-be-at-an-8-a.m.-session thing (that was an interesting morning). Had I not had to spend the rest of my weekend in the library, I probably wouldn’t have lost my cool this morning when I learned that the EHQ (that’s the Environmental History ColloQuium, the story behind which acronym is equivalent to this, and plus, it sounds a lot cooler than EHC) was today and that I’d scheduled a meeting with the professor whose class I’d spent all that time doing research for at the same time, and over which I’d lost a lot of sleep wondering why on earth I’d sent her such an incoherent mess of a prospectus regarding my paper. If that sentence even makes any sense at all. Reader, welcome to the confusion of my day! Fortunately, she let me move the meeting to Thursday, so I was able to hit up the EHQ (for the 45 minutes before I had class), which meant I was able to at least bend another professor’s ear about something I’d been meaning to discuss with him before I had to rush back to Medical Sciences and grab my things for class. The long and the short of it is that I’m home now, it’s a nice drizzly fall afternoon, the East Side Farmer’s Market is starting soon, and I don’t have seminar in the morning (in trade for this weekend’s conference time), so I can actually sleep in for the first time since… Oh, god, was it really last weekend? Can you hear the whimper I just let out?
Folks, I’m done with regard to today. I’m glad it’s nearly over, and I can’t wait till the week is, too. Paul’s arriving late Thursday night, and I can’t think of a better reward at the end of a long, weekendless fortnight. A quaratine, if you will, since we’re on the subject of public health…

5 thoughts on “Weekendless in Wisconsin.

  1. Yeah, sorry for this being perhaps the most incoherent piece of drivel I’ve ever written. If you really want a food update, I can probably remember some meals of note. 😉

  2. Actually I want you to create a blog called FoodUpdate, in which each post is simply a detailed list of your most recent meal.
    Not a bad concept, to be honest. Sort of a postmodern blogging jawn.

Leave a Reply

