Good things: Christmas ’06, New Year’s ’07.

In no particular order:

  • Rediscovering the espresso machine
  • Taking the Taconic
  • Tree-trimming and caroling chez Erickson, complete with excellent music, company, and voices, plus a little 1980 solidarity
  • Rosenblum 2004 Zinfandel, Elyse 2001 Syrah
  • The ceiling of Grand Central Station
  • The crabcakes at Legal Sea Foods
  • Successful family introductions
  • Reading fiction
  • Frank’s Red Hot Chili-Lime (finally found and purchased at the A&P Food Emporium in Scaahhhhsdale)
  • Maxilla & Mandible, 451 Columbus St., New York City
  • Reading my first Hardy Boys book while taking a nice hot bath
  • Reunion and banter with JCB
  • Getting slightly and pleasantly lost in Tribeca/Soho/East Village
  • Hot chocolate at Burdick’s
  • Little Miss Sunshine, The Squid and the Whale, and plenty of time to watch movies
  • Remembering and rereading From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
  • Taking the train to New York
  • Walks and tea with the ‘rents
  • Seeing Madison friends on the East Coast
  • The Best Badger, Sienna, and Lily of the Valley
  • Finding a brush stand at Leavitt & Pearce
  • Having my margarita reputation precede me more than once
8 thoughts on “Good things: Christmas ’06, New Year’s ’07.

  1. Okay, then, Terminal. Of course, these days Chicago is more an obstruction than a destination, I’ll admit — Oak Park notwithstanding, Mr. Wright. Since when did you become such a pedant? Or should I expect it, judging from how comfortable your chairs are?
    Back to DFW on American usage…

  2. If you’re alive again, allow me to inquire: did my last letter ever reach you? Is a reply in the eventual offing?

  3. You were in “Scaahhhhsdale”?!?! I work there 🙂 Sorry I missed you yet again. Glad to read you had good holidays and a fun trip home!
    -koj

  4. Sherv &mdash Yes, a letter will be forthcoming. I have not forgotten!
    Kris — I am sorry we didn’t catch up in Westchester. I will let you know in advance next time. Things were just super hectic and also completely unplanned. It is highly likely I will be back there soon. =)
    As for the blogging, I’m back for the interim. Classes don’t start till something like the 22nd. We’ll see how long I can sustain it into the semester… This one promises to be pretty brutal. That whole master’s thesis and all…

Leave a Reply

