Recordbreakers.

In more Wisconsin news, Madison just set a record snowfall for the season. Nobody I know seems surprised, but I kind of am: I guess I just think of Madison as a snowy place, and while I know we’ve had a lot of snow this year, it doesn’t seem like that much. I suppose it’s the cumulative bit: when you think of record-breaking snowfall, you think huge storms, cars buried, five foot banks on the side of the road. It’s not quite like that here (though the last storm did make it hard to see around snowbanks when driving around corners), but it is true that we’ve had snow every few days for a while now.
Of course, I’m loving it, despite my back’s protestations every time I go shovel out my car. It’s beautiful, I’ve got the gear for it, and I probably won’t have this much snow again when I come back east. At least, it won’t be quite as nice and cold and white and lasting.

One thought on “Recordbreakers.

  1. I think the difference between Midwestern and Eastern winters is exactly what you described… in the East, you occasionally get these large blizzards (aptly named Nor’easters) but the snow doesn’t usually stick around for too long. (Maybe a few weeks tops before another warm spell comes by and melts it… not all of it, but enough of it that you no longer feel boxed in.) In the midwest (at least in Minnesota… less so of SE Michigan which is further South), you get lots of little snowfalls with a colder constant temperature. As a result, the snow that falls in November is usually still on the ground in March.

Leave a Reply

