Portland Farmer’s Market.

Today I finally went to the Portland Farmer’s Market in Monument Square. Had I been planning to go and not just serendipitously passing through, I would have bought even more than I did; as it was, I brought home two bunches of beets, a bag of rosemary for roasting a chicken, some chèvre avec herbes de Provence, an acorn squash, brussels sprouts, arugula, and cider. It was a great fall market, of a good and manageable size, with nonetheless a huge variety of produce: everything from summer staples like tomatoes, green beans, and corn, to autumn standards of the squash and root-vegetable variety.

I think my Wednesday trips to Whole Foods are now going to involve buying much less produce…

Leave a Reply

