A springtime haul.

My local farmer’s market here in DC has finally started up, and yesterday I made a good haul that had me thinking back to a wonderful spring day we passed in Berlin last year. Both days included delicious seasonal food (strawberries, asparagus), and sightings of peonies.

Spring at the farmer's market.
Spring at the farmer’s market: asparagus, strawberries, arugula and sorrel, rhubarb.

I’ve already made some strawberry shortcake, but I’m particularly excited about the sorrel and the rhubarb I picked up. I haven’t decided whether I’ll make a sorrel soup, or some kind of sorrel egg or custard dish, like a sorrel and onion quiche or something. And it’s still a toss-up between rhubarb pie and rhubarb crisp, though I’m leaning towards pie. Keep an eye on The Seasoned Skillet for more on what I’m making.

4 thoughts on “A springtime haul.

Leave a Reply

