Library love.

Reason x of N (where N is very large) why the University of Wisconsin Libraries are amazing and wonderful and the absolute best: Distance Services.

Distance services are designed for people who, like me, are UW students and faculty who are living outside of Dane County, and who do not travel to Madison frequently, but who still want to be able to take advantage of the world-class holdings that, as members of the UW community, we are fortunate enough to have access to. By submitting requests through an online system, people like me can have articles that are not available via the university’s online journal subscriptions scanned and delivered to us electronically, or to have books in the library’s collections mailed to us directly, with return postage paid. I just received my first two distance-service books, and let me tell you, it’s like Christmas.

To the UW Libraries: thank you. I feel honored to be a member of a community that places such a high value on its library collections, and provides such amazing services to scholars. May it always be so.

Leave a comment